Froo’s All Spice Dress

All Spice Dress Tour
Hope you had a Happy Thanksgiving! It’s such a great holiday–a time to be intentional about gratitude. Black Friday, on the other hand, is sheer madness. If you’re here visiting instead of braving the crowds, then I’m especially thankful!

If you are visiting via the All Spice Dress blog tour, a warm welcome to the Froo & Boo blog! I first “met” Karly of Paisley Roots, when we were both competing in Project Run & Play (season 8)–I was really blown away by Karly’s designs for all 5 of her kids. She took 1st place and I was genuinely happy for her. I told her I would love to sew up her All Spice Dress and she held me to it! I’m excited to be participating in the All Spice Dress blog tour!

I had a completely different All Spice dress planned, but then I found the perfect navy and gold buttons in my button box that were destined to become an All Spice dress. I chose a stretch finewale corduroy in navy blue to complement the buttons. It’s a bit thick, but I thought it would work well for the season.
All Spice Dress Tour
I love the details of this dress! It features a square neckline, front pintuck pleats and a dropped waistline. I chose the button placket, but there is also an option to add a zipper closure. I used the same buttons in ivory to make a music class blouse for Froo.
All Spice Dress Tour
The sleeves are meant to be flutter sleeves, but I added gold piping, which meant I had to line the sleeves, losing the flutter. I love the effect of gold piping! After seeing gold piping used so beautifully on the hungie gungie blog, I knew I had to try it for myself. I added gold piping to the waist as well.
All Spice Dress Tour
I made the dress in size 6, without any modifications. After sewing up the bodice, I had Froo try it on. It seemed rather tight, so I took out 1/2″ on each side seam. But when I completed the dress, it ended up being a little loose. I’m not sure if Froo was just sticking out her tummy at the time, but I should have just left it as is–the fit is spot-on. The instructions were straightforward with plenty of photos for reference.

Froo is going through a no-smiling-for-the-camera phase. I’m hoping it’ll be short-lived. It puts a smile on my face, looking through the sea of pouty, scrunched nose, eyeball rolling photos. I’m just thankful that she will still pose for the camera anyway. Such a sweet girl. With a look of disdain:
All Spice Dress Tour
All Spice Dress Tour
All Spice Dress Tour
All Spice Dress Tour
All Spice Dress Tour
Is this a smile? I’m not so sure–even Froo seems unsure, but I’ll take it!
All Spice Dress Tour
All Spice Dress Tour
If you would love to sew up an All Spice Dress, Karly is offering a 25% discount with the code BLACKFRIDAY2014. There’s also a chance to win some amazing prizes (fabric! zippers!), with multiple ways to earn entries here. Also, link-up here, if you’ve made an item from any Paisley Roots pattern or made with Blend Fabrics. Good luck!
All Spice Blog Tour
I hope you’ll visit participating blogs on the All Spice blog tour–all of the dresses are beautiful. I always find it inspiring to see how others interpret a pattern to achieve a dress that is completely unique and reflects individual style. Thanks for visiting!

3 responses to “Froo’s All Spice Dress

  1. This is beautiful Irene. The buttons are superb and the dress is just the right showcase for them. This is definitely the right season for gold piping!

  2. oh, this is so beautiful!! I absolutely love that color on your daughter- it’s so pretty with her dark hair. Good call on the gold piping too. -E 🙂

  3. So so pretty! Love it. Love the tights too!

