Mittens, mittens, mittens!

Waterproof Fleece-lined Mittens
Yup, another (7th!) project from the oliver + s “little things to sew” book. Three pairs of mittens for Froo & Boo’s friends, who will be spending Christmas at our home this year. Even though we are a little sad that this will be our first Christmas without our extended families, we are happy to have good friends to celebrate with!

I changed the patten to make the mittens waterproof and fleece-lined! I made sizes S, M & L in different colours, with matching fleece. I love how they turned out! Our friends will be joining us for ice skating lessons, so warm waterproof mittens are definitely needed.
Waterproof Fleece-lined Mittens
The navy blue fabric is quite unique, purchased a couple of years ago at Fabricana. It’s similar to ripstop nylon, but much smoother, with a hint of sheen and stretch to it. I had a bit leftover from a waterproof cover that I made for the Ergo carrier. I used my friend’s cover as a template to make a mini sleeping bag-like hooded cover for Boo. I can’t believe he was ever this tiny:
Cover for Ergo Carrier
For the girls’ mittens, I used waterproof PUL (Polyurethane Laminate) fabric that is intended for washable diapers! I found a small 3-pack sampler at Jo-Ann. Since mittens take up such little fabric, it’s the perfect solution for cute, waterproof mittens. Although PUL is generally used to keep liquids from leaking out (ewww), I’m sure it’ll work at keeping little hands warm & dry.
Waterproof Fleece-lined Mittens
Waterproof Fleece-lined Mittens
Waterproof Fleece-lined Mittens
Technically, the mittens are reversible, but there really isn’t a use for the fleece to be on the outside. Unless to wipe a snotty nose, of course. It was pretty easy to do. I sewed up each outer layer with a 1/4″ seam allowance and the inside fleece layer with a 3/8″ seam allowance. I inserted the fleece layer, wrong side out, sewed them together to create a tube for self-encased elastic, folded the edges in and topstitched them together. Et voilà!
Waterproof Fleece-lined Mittens
I didn’t make any mittens for Froo & Boo. They each have a pair of mittens we bought for them when we went up to Whistler last year. Although, these new ones are much easier to put on. I have such a hard time getting Boo’s chubby and sweaty thumb into his current mittens. I asked Froo & Boo to model the gifts for their friends. Even though the pink ones fit perfectly on Boo, he refused to wear them, choosing to wear the big navy ones instead:
Waterproof Fleece-lined Mittens
Boo cracked his head against the fireplace yesterday, after rolling around on my new exercise ball. Luckily, he’s as solid as a rock and only suffered a minor scratch. The bump on his forehead is more apparent from a side-profile angle. That is my official reason for not sending out photo Christmas cards this year. My unofficial reason might have something to do with Project Run & Play
Waterproof Fleece-lined Mittens
As advent is coming to an end, Christmas is fast approaching! Wishing you and your family a very Merry Christmas! xoxo.

2 responses to “Mittens, mittens, mittens!

  1. Pingback: Some sewing happened in 2013 | FROO & BOO

  2. Pingback: Mittens! - The Finished Garment

