Designing for Project Run & Play

Project Run & Play Season 8: Froo & Boo
If you have arrived from Project Run & Play, then you have already found out that I am a designer for season 8 of Project Run & Play! For those of you who visit now and then, it should make perfect sense for my lack of regular posts in the past couple of months. The anticipation for the season to begin has stifled my ability to sew anything. Seriously. Instead, my mind is preoccupied with designs, colours, fabric and thoughts of sewing.

As a past home sew-along winner, I was offered a designer spot by Elizabeth and Liz in October, while on holidays in Vancouver, Canada. It makes me happy that Froo still wears the Kate Middleton coat I designed for her. My mom took this photo of Froo at Central Park in Burnaby, my old hometown:
Project Run & Play Season 8: Froo & Boo
I nervously accepted and proceeded to do some research–I scanned through seasons 1-7 of Project Run & Play until my eyeballs dried up. Project Run & Play is the online version of the tv show Project Runway, with designs specifically for children. I recommend taking some time to view past seasons–the designs are amazing!

After doing my research, I went on a fabric shopping spree. I never realized how awesome fabric shopping can be in Vancouver, until I moved away. Don’t get me wrong, I love fabric shopping in San Francisco, but there is no place like Dressew or Fabricana. I also had the luxury of shopping at Dressew by myself, sans enfants, after thoroughly enjoying a porchetta sandwich at Meat & Bread. Yum. Anyways, the trouble with shopping early is the unknown factor of what the themes will be. I stuck with fabrics that I knew I could always use in the future AND hard to get if I missed my chance in Vancouver.

I used my iPhone to take photos of the fabric tags since fabric shopping can be overwhelming and it can be difficult to remember all of the details afterwards. Now I can look at the photos as a reference for fibre content. The prices are in $CDN and priced per metre (1 m=39.37 in).
Project Run & Play Season 8: Froo & Boo
The themes will be revealed tomorrow at Project Run & Play, so stay tuned! There are some in the mix that I know I won’t use, but a couple that are such a perfect selection for the styles that I will try to create. I also bought fabric online, taking advantage of some black Friday sales.

The process of getting to this point has already been a great experience for me! I love sewing for my kids. I can’t help but look at cute outfits on kids and gush with “oohs” and “ahhs”. I love fashion. I know that fashion can be superficial, but I appreciate the art behind fashion to create beauty that is inspired by life and evokes an emotional response. I love a challenge. I always have designs floating around in my mind, but this competition is just the push I need to make garments that reflect my style.

I am incredibly happy to be a part of Project Run & Play, among a group of fun & talented sewers. I think it’s such a great platform for moms to celebrate their children, while doing something meaningful for themselves. Having ideas, learning new skills and using my creativity to turn those ideas into a tangible reality is a source of pure joy. I am enjoying this entire experience, along with all the stress, time constraints and perplexed moments, because I am grateful for this opportunity. I am trying to prepare my time and energy, setting a pace that I can keep up with, along with all of the busy merrymaking of the Christmas holidays!
Col. Chris Hadfield
I recently had the chance to meet the most interesting man alive, Col. Chris Hadfield. He is a Canadian astronaut who made outer space accessible through his YouTube videos, most notably, his Space Oddity music video. In his book, “An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth“, Hadfield writes with incredible insight into what it took to follow his dreams. At the NASA book signing, Hadfield talked about how his wife, Helene, had to put her dreams on hold, taking care of their kids until they were all grown up. She then went to culinary school, graduated at the top of her class, and went on to work at an acclaimed restaurant in Texas. Hearing that resonated with me on many levels–I’ve gained perspective to define my dreams, have patience and prepare for it daily. I feel that in some lucky way, I am indirectly pursuing my dreams, while knowing in my heart that I am beyond blessed to be able to care for my family. Each new day is a gift. I will accept the gift and try to make it beautiful.

Thank you for visiting and allowing me to share my thoughts with you–it means the world to me!

6 responses to “Designing for Project Run & Play

  1. kara

    Congratulations! How exciting.

  2. I’m a relatively new reader to your blog and was super excited to find out you’re taking part in PR&P. I can totally imagine that it’s exhilarating and nerve-wracking all at once…and to come so shortly after the holidays! Best of luck – I’m sure you’ll wow us all – and I can’t wait to follow along! x

  3. Just today I ran into your blog through two totally different google searches. On both I found myself perusing through all of your adorable creations-everything is so inspiring. Anyway, just want to say good luck! This new-found fan will be rooting for you.

    • Thanks Michelle!! It’s always surprising to me that my blog would even show up on a google search. I’m very excited about sewing my own designs!

