Continuing A Christmas Tradition

Christmas Tradition: Painted Birdhouse
Last year, I thought it would be nice to start a family Christmas tradition, since it was our first year living away from home. Froo & Boo painted a lovely birdhouse together, that we had on display on our fireplace mantle. I was looking forward to creating a cute neighbourhood of birdhouses.

As we were unpacking our Christmas decorations this year, I misplaced the birdhouse. I panicked. Because let’s face it, a tradition isn’t a tradition unless it’s repeated the following year. If lost, I would feel responsible for the loss of something that could have been, 20 years later, telling stories about each and every birdhouse… Who knew I could be so sentimental? Luckily, I found it a week later, hidden behind some cleaning supplies in the garage.

I should have been ecstatic, but I was a little disappointed–the birdhouse had discoloured to an icky taupe. I’m pretty sure the glitter paint was the culprit. Undeterred, Froo & Boo repainted the birdhouse with white acrylic paint. Afterwards, we sprinkled white fine glitter on top, which stuck to the wet paint. Much better.
Christmas Tradition: Painted Birdhouse
Since I wasn’t sure if we’d continue this tradition, I didn’t purchase a birdhouse this year. Instead, we repainted the tiny birdhouses that Froo & Boo painted last year. They had been sitting on top of the fridge this whole time. I thought it would be simple, yet festive to paint monochromatic birdhouses, with the same colour of fine glitter. The birdhouses have a layer of mod podge, to seal in the glitter.
Christmas Tradition: Painted Birdhouse
I remembered to date the birdhouses again this year:
Christmas Tradition: Painted Birdhouse
Time to decorate!
Christmas Tradition: Painted Birdhouse
Christmas Tradition: Painted Birdhouse
Froo & I went to watch a performance of the Nutcracker together yesterday. She insisted on getting a nutcracker of her own. I tried to convince her to get the red one, but she chose this one and named him Lucas. He matches our Christmas decor.
Christmas Tradition: Painted Birdhouse
I taped a piece of thread to the ceiling, for the Santa helicopter ornament to fly over the big birdhouse. Boo broke one of the propellers, but a bit of E6000 glue worked wonders.
Christmas Tradition: Painted Birdhouse
Truthfully, if the kids remember this year’s birdhouses, they might remember that mommy lost her patience when there was white paint all over the kitchen table, Boo’s face and art smock. Oh the mess!
Christmas Tradition: Painted Birdhouse
What I want the kids to remember about the day we painted the birdhouses this year? The evening we spent at the local ice rink where Froo & Boo take lessons, huddled together, watching young figure skaters grace the ice, some not-so-gracefully. There is nothing quite as heartwarming as the anticipation and hope for each skater to nail their jump and the positive encouragement whether or not they do. It was the coldest we have ever been in California. Froo went to sleep that night wearing 2 pairs of socks. Boo ate Nerds from the candy claw machine. They still make those??

I guess that’s why I want to create a family tradition–to have a visual reminder of how we spent our Christmas each year. Together as a family. Making time for each other. Besides, I have a terrible memory and I’d hate to forget these fleeting moments with Froo & Boo.
A Froo & Boo Christmas Tradition
While writing this post, I came up with the most brilliant idea. Together with the hubs, I think we’ll write love notes and memories from our Christmas, roll them up tightly into tiny scrolls and pop them into the opening of the birdhouse. That way, we can shake them out in the future and be reminded of the love we share. xoxo.
Christmas Tradition: Painted Birdhouse

4 responses to “Continuing A Christmas Tradition

  1. Christina

    Love love love your ideas about the houses and the scrolls! Brilliant! Beautiful pictures and what beautiful memories you are making. Thanks too for the honesty about the paint messes! Us mommys try and make mistakes, but try try again right?

  2. i love this idea! I am (or was before kids) a pastry chef, and every year at the inn where I worked I made gingerbread birdhouses- based on similar ones from Michael’s. They are so sweet, and just the right size! Great tradition you’ve started! -erin

