Experimental Strawberry Knit Mini Tova

I’ve been experimenting again–this time for Froo. On Labour Day, we visited Hart’s Fabric, where I purchased a lush jersey knit in Lilac Strawberry from the Briar Rose collection, by Heather Ross. I’ve seen the collection all over the Internet, but it wasn’t until I saw it in person that I fell for the print. It reminds me of a happy childhood summer.

Doesn’t this shirt look like it smells good?
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
I based this shirt on the Flashback Skinny Tee in size 5T (which is the best pattern ever for kids tees: the excellent instructions & photos for sewing with knits, the perfect fit and the versatility for modification make it a staple in my pattern collection). Then I went nutty with my alterations to make it look like my scoop neck tova.

I managed to get a full pleat in the center front of the shirt by adding 4 inches of extra width to the front piece. I drafted the inset piece and tried to get it to look like a continuous scoop, but it’s looking a little disjointed. I’ll just call this one a square neck shirt instead. The strawberry buttons are from Daiso.
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
The neck opening doesn’t require stretch since there are buttonholes in the inset, so I decided to bind the neck opening with bias tape. Besides, I had oodles of aqua dot bias tape leftover from my Datura blouse. Here’s a look at the inside of the shirt:
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
I shortened and widened the sleeves to use the same “Wiksten Tova” method of gathering the sleeves and putting in cuffs. Since the cuffs are narrow, I used a stretch tricot stitch to attach the cuffs and a double-needle to finish it on the outside to ensure that there is still a bit of stretch.
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
To reduce bulk in the sleeve cuffs, the edge is only folded once, making it exposed on the inside. I serged the edges to give it a finished look. This cotton jersey knit fabric is a bit thicker and the edges curl like crazy–it really helps to use a serger to stabilize the edges.
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
The hem is finished with a serger and a double needle:
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
Froo loves strawberries, the buttons and the shirt! But she scratched her foot on her bed a moment before taking photos and didn’t feel like wearing her new shirt. Her unhappy first pose:
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
She is covering up most of the shirt with her bunny, so let’s focus on the next best thing: pinkish taupe suede boots. Recently acquired hand-me-downs from Froo’s second cousins. How awesome are they?
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
I had a couple of head-scratching, perplexed moments while making the strawberry knit mini tova, but I’m so happy with how it turned out! I think it’ll be a great go-to shirt for school as the weather gets cooler. I lengthened the shirt by 2 1/2″, which provides extended coverage and the pleat makes it comfortable for Froo to run around in. I love this look for Froo.
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
Although, I’m not sure Froo is convinced:
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
Finally, a couple of photos of Froo & me in our new knit tovas:
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
Strawberry Knit Shirt for Froo
A couple of happy shirts for a couple of happy girls. Similar, yet different. Just like the two of us.

16 responses to “Experimental Strawberry Knit Mini Tova

  1. This looks really lovely, the fabric is gorgeous!

  2. Gorgeous! I have a Japanese pattern very similar to this which comes in kid and grown up sizes. I may have to go down the mother/daughter match-y path too! You two look lovely!

  3. Lucinda

    so you both have kind’ve awesome boots! love that last pic:)
    Great job on the tova/flashback tee – love the pleat down the front and the rounded inset. I’m sure it will become a favorite of Froo:)

    • Thanks Lucinda! My boots are really old, I almost threw them out because the rain seeps in (useless in Vancouver). I’m so happy I didn’t now that we live in California!

  4. Oh my goodness, it’s such an ADORABLE top! And both of you look so stylish, gotta love the boots you girls are wearing!

    • Thanks Erin! I can’t believe the weather is changing so quickly. Although summer is always fun, secretly, I love fall. There’s nothing like a good pair of boots to welcome a new season!

  5. Oh my gosh – this is so cute! Love the Heather Ross – I’ve got to find some 🙂 It looks amazing!

