The Super Online Sewing Match… and me!

The Super Online Sewing Match
I have yet to recover from the shock that I am one of 10 contestants for the The Super Online Sewing Match*, hosted by Sew Mama Sew! I found out by email last night, accepted the challenge and now I’m getting ready for Round 1! To read more about the Sewing Match*, this post has all of the details. I haven’t had much sleep since that email because I have been watching The Great British Sewing Bee until my eyes felt like they had dried wide-open, almost losing the ability to blink. Really exciting stuff!

For readers who are visiting my blog for the first time, thank you for stopping by! To find out more about me, I thought I would simply post my audition email that I sent to Beth and Kristin, the lovely ladies of Sew Mama Sew, to try and convince them to pick me.

—–

Hi Beth,
 
I would love to have the opportunity to be a contestant for your Super Online Sewing Bee! Just thinking about it gives me chills—it would be so exciting to participate.
 
I’ve been sewing since the 8th Grade, when I learned how to make a tote bag, apron and a pair of shorts in my Home Ec class. My mom taught me how to build upon those early skills to make garments and I took sewing classes all throughout high school—even making my own prom dress! More recently, I returned to sewing 5 years ago, anticipating the birth of my first child and now I sew all the time, documenting my progress on my blog at: frooandboo.wordpress.com. My projects are catalogued visually on this page of my blog: frooandboo.wordpress.com/photo-index
 
Here are a couple of samples of my work:
  1. Kate Middleton Military Coat – I drafted this coat pattern to follow along with Project Run & Play, during Fashion Icon Week. It is one of my most popular posts to date and my daughter wears it all the time. frooandboo.wordpress.com/2012/09/19/fashion-icon-weekKate Middleton Military Coat
  2. Burberry-Inspired School Coat – This is another coat that I made for my daughter, inspired by the Burberry trench that I was obsessed with at the time. This coat features oodles of details and I learned a lot from putting it together. frooandboo.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/a-burberry-inspired-school-coat
     Burberry-Inspired School Coat
  3. Grey Fox Backpack – This is my most recent sewing project. I customized the Oliver + S backpack pattern to be a grey fox as a birthday gift for a boy named Grey. I love how it turned out! frooandboo.wordpress.com/2013/07/01/happy-grey-canada-day
    Fox backpack from Oliver + S "little things to sew"
  4. Wiksten Tova in Nani Iro – If you’ll allow me to throw in just one more… This is my favourite shirt and has really planted the seed to make more clothing for myself. I love finding amazing fabric to showcase amazing patterns.  frooandboo.wordpress.com/2012/11/09/wiksten-tova-in-nani-iro
    Wiksten Tova in Nani Iro
Finally, to try and persuade you to pick me (Pick me! Pick me!), I feel like I am bursting with new sewing ideas that I have yet to try. It would be a great experience to focus those ideas in a competition format, to be challenged and to come out of it with garments/bags that I can be proud of. My blog is still relatively new, but my intent for it has never wavered: to create useful handmade goodies for my friends & family, intertwined with the storytelling of our lives—thus, bringing meaning to those handmade goodies. 
 
Thank you for reading my application!
 
Regards,
 
Irene Leung
—–

Please join me on my sewing adventures! I am beyond thrilled and honoured to have been selected as a contestant–I’m so excited to create garments that will truly reflect my creativity and style. The online sewing community is so warm and encouraging–I would never have dreamt to enter a sewing competition if it hadn’t been for all of the positive feedback from my little blog. You guys are the bestest!

* This post has been updated to reflect the new name of the competition.

18 responses to “The Super Online Sewing Match… and me!

  1. Ashleigh

    I’m new here, but I have to say I am loving your blog! I can’t find you on Feedly, though, so I’ll have to try to remember to stop by from time to time. Best of luck in the contest!

    • Thanks for visiting my blog, Ashleigh! I can be found on Feedly–as far as I know, they were having some overcapacity issues after Google Reader died, but it should be working!

  2. Best of luck. You will be great to watch because your makes are so creative.

  3. Beverly

    Congratulations! I’m very glad to have found your blog through this and get wonderful ideas for my grandkids. Good luck!

  4. Congratulations! I’m so excited for you, and can’t wait to see your creations!

  5. Irene, you endeared me to you by sharing your application letter :). Your work is completely rock-star and I can’t wait to see your projects in the Bee! You must be sleeping, eating & breathing sewing right now, and I wish you the very best!!!

    • Thanks Michelle! Haha, that about sums it all up! Sewing is on my mind all the time. Seriously. I have piles of fabric on the counter, but no food in the fridge. Eek!

  6. Carol Wallace

    SO PROUD OF YOU. That’s awesome. If you don’t win, thems crazy!

  7. wow- will be checking this out for sure. congrats and good luck! p.s. that trench is AWESOME.

  8. Lia Zak

    Congratulations! how exciting!!!

  9. Catt

    You rock!!! Good luck!

