Spring Cleaning: Froo’s Toys

Spring Cleaning: Froo's Toys
I can’t believe the first day of summer is tomorrow! Spring went by in a flash–reminding me a couple of days ago that I hadn’t made my spring cleaning project for Froo. It’s been 2 months since I made Boo’s spring cleaning fabric bins! With mere hours until tomorrow’s deadline, I finished just in time.

The teacher in me loves buying learning toys (the kind used in school, not the ones that light up and make sounds). The mom in me goes nutty when itty bits of toys are scattered around the house. I put all of the educational toys in a pink box, thinking that would keep them organized, but it’s usually empty because the contents have spilled over:
Spring Cleaning: Froo's Toys Spring Cleaning: Froo's Toys
Not even staged. If it were, I would have put pants on Boo. What’s been bugging me is the cross-contamination of non-learning toys with learning toys. Also, I think we are missing a couple of counting bears, which is why I suspect Froo’s counting is a little wonky. The bears are often used as pretend gummies for tea parties and picnics.

Solution: Anna’s (of Noodlehead) open wide zippered pouch. It’s an amazing (and free!) tutorial to make a zippered pouch, with instructions to make one in various sizes.
Noodlehead's Open Wide Zippered Pouch
I love how they turned out! The contrast bottom fabric is called “Leaf Garden in Coral” from the Nested Owls collection by ADORNit and the solid colours are Kona Aqua, Medium Pink, Parchment and Grass Green.

I added twill tape to the zipper pull with a bit of brown grosgrain ribbon sewn at the end. Just a cute way to add a stamped label and to make it easier for Boo’s chubby fingers to open the pouch. I first learned of the idea here and have been using it ever since to personalize items. The stamps were purchased at Michael’s in the $1.50 bin.
Twill Tape and Grosgrain Ribbon Stamped Labels
I made the pink one first, using the exact dimensions for the large pouch. It really does open wide, so you can see the contents inside. I used muslin as my lining.
Noodlehead's Open Wide Zippered Pouch
I made the green one second, lengthening the green portion by 3 inches, in order to fit the clock. I ran out of interfacing, so I didn’t use any, which makes for a wimpy, yet cute pouch, nonetheless.
Noodlehead's Open Wide Zippered Pouch
I used fusible fleece on the next one, the parchment colour lengthened by 2 inches. The structure on this one is the best.
Noodlehead's Open Wide Zippered Pouch
Finally, this last pouch was made in the medium size and I had just enough interfacing for it. This one would be the perfect size for makeup. Perhaps when Froo & Boo outgrow these toys, I can just cut off the twill tape and use it for just that purpose.
Noodlehead's Open Wide Zippered Pouch
I know it seems a little backwards to put the printed fabric on the bottom and the solid coloured fabric on top, but it makes for easier identification when all of the pouches are in the pink box:
Noodlehead's Open Wide Zippered Pouch
The above photo makes me incredibly happy. I don’t even care that I forgot to make a pouch for the ice cream learning toys in the first photo. Spring done, we are ready for summer!

3 responses to “Spring Cleaning: Froo’s Toys

  1. awe! very cute, love all the personalization you added. :)))

  2. Pingback: Happy Grey & Canada Day! | FROO & BOO

