Froo’s Pre-K Graduation + Teacher gifts

Froo's Pre-K Graduation
Froo's Pre-K Graduation
Froo's Pre-K Graduation
Froo's Pre-K Graduation
Froo's Pre-K Graduation
Froo's Pre-K Graduation
Froo's Pre-K Graduation
My first baby graduated pre-kindergarten yesterday. I didn’t realize that it was such an important milestone, but looking back at this school year, I can see how much Froo has grown. She came home with a booklet of self-portraits drawn almost every month–the difference between September and June is astounding!

Froo’s graduation was held at City Hall. Super cute. I was able to convince Froo to wear her chiffon geranium dress. I could see her twirling and watching her dress flutter–I think she might even like it now! I curled her hair for the first time. She refused to wear her graduation hat. I don’t blame her, I never wore mine at my undergrad ceremony. I had my hair in an updo. Anyhoo, Froo’s star balloon floated up to the ceiling. I’m going to take it at as a positive sign that her future is bright.

Before the ceremony started, Boo ran around like crazy and sat with the other kids, thinking he’d be graduating, too. We got him to sit still for the ENTIRE ceremony by giving him a ring pop. He’s only had it once before at a birthday party and behaved like a zombie fixated on the one thing. Whatever works?

Froo’s preschool has a no-gifts-for-teachers policy (unless the gift is something that can be used in the classroom, ie. crayons). It goes against everything I believe in–I love giving gifts as a token of my appreciation. However, I don’t like to break rules. So I refrained from giving gifts. But then I saw other moms giving Christmas and Valentine’s gifts to the teachers and decided (one day before graduation) it was time to break a rule. I have no regrets.
Teacher Gifts Teacher Gifts
Teacher Gifts
Since I wanted to make sure the gift wouldn’t end up as a classroom resource, I decided to make personalized handmade gifts. I used pre-made muslin bags and added appliqué elements from Suzy Ultman’s Handle With Care fabric and hand-stamped each teacher’s name. Inside each bag contained a kitchen towel with a fabric border that I blogged about here. Froo signed a card for all 4 of her teachers–I only hope they know how much they are appreciated.
Froo's Pre-K Graduation
I feel that it won’t be long before I am the one looking up at Froo. My heart is about to burst–thus ending this post.

6 responses to “Froo’s Pre-K Graduation + Teacher gifts

  1. My daughter will graduate from kindergarten end of this month and I’m also thinking of gift for her teachers. Your handmade gifts are cute yet practical, I love how you package them too. Thank you for this inspiration!

  2. Lucinda

    Congrats on your daughter’s graduation:) It only gets harder from here – my baby just graduated from preschool last week and my oldest from middle school . . . as I’m sure you feel, they grow up so fast!
    Loved your teacher gifts – super thoughtful and the handmade touch is always perfect. Good call:)

  3. Pingback: Suzy Ultman Dolls | FROO & BOO

  4. Pingback: KCW: Summer outfit for Boo | FROO & BOO

