Froo, the (bossy) fashion designer

My pride has been slightly wounded. Froo did not like the chiffon geranium dress I made her for Kids Clothes Week. At all. Admittedly, I was crushed. I still love the dress and I am trying to convince her to wear it to her preschool graduation. We’ll see.

But what I am really proud of, quite unexpectedly, is Froo’s ability to convey the exact dress she wanted me to make for her. She even drew a picture:
Fashion Designer Froo
This was how she described it: “I want a dark pink dress, really dark, with white ruffle sleeves, but I couldn’t draw the white sleeves because the paper is white, so in my picture, they look black. I also want a white ruffle trim on the bottom. I want the white ruffles to be like this (she drew scallops in the air with her finger). Can you help me write, ‘I want a dress like this’ on my paper?”

That is why there is an uppercase “I” on Froo’s drawing. I almost cried. My little Froo is a fashion designer. I humbly complied to Froo’s request. How could I deny her the actualization of her imagined dress?
Fashion Designer Froo
For Froo’s dress, I used the Kate’s Dress pattern by Lily Bird Studio, previously made here, but in size 6. I really love the simplicity of this pattern. The fabric is Kona cotton in Pomegranite. I used an eyelet trim for the ruffle sleeves and hem that I bought at Jo-Ann. 2 yards was just enough to embellish this dress.
Fashion Designer Froo
The buttons on the back are shaped like tiny rosebuds and complements the eyelet floral embroidery.
Fashion Designer Froo
Froo was really happy to wear her dress. It was picture day at preschool today–I’m not sure if it’s an American thing to take a school photo at the end of the school year, but in Canada, we’re accustomed to taking one at the beginning of the year. In any case, she wouldn’t wear tights or a cardigan with her dress, even though the wind was crazy today.
Fashion Designer Froo
Fashion Designer Froo
It was also free choice for show n’ tell today, so she took her LEGO Duplo giraffe to preschool.
Fashion Designer Froo
Then we had another photo bomber incident, thus ending our short photo session.
Fashion Designer Froo
Next time I make Froo a dress, I am going to ask for her input. The white and dark (dark) pink combination is not one I would have paired together myself. (It’s also very difficult to photograph–my camera didn’t like the high contrast and the pink appears much brighter than it should be). Somehow, it works. More importantly, I have a very happy daughter who is proud to wear the dress her mommy made for her.

2 responses to “Froo, the (bossy) fashion designer

  1. Gorgeous dress! More importantly, it’s wonderful to see how happy your daughter is when you made her something she asked for. I think my daughter is also a little fashion designer. I’m going to ask her input for all future items I sew for her. She won’t wear a single thing I’ve made for her in the past! It’s lovely to see how you transformed her idea into a sweet dress!

