My Birthday

My Birthday
You know when you’re a mommy when your daughter says she wants to make you a birthday cake, so you pretty much end up making your own birthday cake. Except I don’t have any round cake pans so I made birthday coconut cupcakes. My cake batter is based on this recipe (with half the sugar and reduced oven time, about 25 minutes) and the cream cheese frosting is adapted from this recipe (halved, without coconut flakes and coconut extract substitutes the almond extract).
My Birthday Coconut Cupcakes
My Birthday Coconut Cupcakes
My Birthday
My Birthday
My Birthday Coconut Cupcakes
The frosting isn’t pretty–the ziplock bag that it was in burst, but it doesn’t really matter because it was dangerously good. De-de-de-de-licious!

I had a great birthday today! My parents & little brother are here celebrating with me, Froo gave me a card that she made at school and Boo was able to say, “Happy Birthday, Mommy!” Since we’ve been super busy, the hubs said I could buy my own gift. I don’t know about you, but I found that really romantic. The stars were aligned because this purse that I pinned over a year ago, reappeared on the Kate Spade Surprise Sale that ended today. I was able to get it at a 60% discount! Woot woot.
Kate Spade - All Aboard Ship Clutch
But here is the gift that I’m really excited about:
My Birthday Present
Thanks umma & appa! I can’t wait to start using it. I’ve already killed my magic bullet and the bella blender I’m using now is dying a slow and loud death. The secret to yummy smoothies: frozen grapes–nature’s sugar and thickener.
My Dad & Me
My parents are leaving this weekend. I’m not ready for them to leave. I like having them around and Froo & Boo love playing with their uncle Sammy. I’m also in the process of learning how to crochet from my mom. A post is in the works for the project we’ve been working on.

Today I turned 35. Last year, I celebrated my birthday with my family at Tropika, my favourite Malaysian restaurant in Vancouver. We were just getting ready to move to the San Francisco bay area at the time. So much has happened and I’m happy with how everything worked out. I’m looking forward to baking more of my birthday cakes in the future!

One response to “My Birthday

  1. Pingback: A sheer Wiksten tank | FROO & BOO

