KCW: A dress for my niece

I managed to squeeze in one more KCW project–a little dress for my niece, who will be visiting next week! My sister and her family were supposed to come last summer, but she was preggos and her doctor put her on bed rest, then she went back to work (with a newborn and a toddler!) and finally, school’s out and she’s able to visit! My sister has her PhD in medical genetics and teaches at the university we both graduated from. One smart cookie. You can’t tell so much from this photo:
My older sister
I’m not sure what to make of my stunned squirrel expression, except that I think Boo looks a lot like me.

My sister was probably put on bed rest because my niece was really big. She’s still really big-off the charts big. At 6 months old, she is almost as heavy as her 2 1/2 year old big brother. I asked my sister to email me her measurements, but I didn’t get a reply, so I made her dress in size 2T–just to be safe.

The pattern: Kate’s Dress by Lily Bird Studio
The fabric: Chambray (main) & Tea Cakes in Tea Rose Vanilla purchased at Fabric.com (facing, lining and back buttons)
KCW: Roses & Chambray Dress
KCW: Roses & Chambray Dress
The dress is pretty simple, which is great since it highlights the fabric. I’m really loving the fabric combination. The chambray is super soft and has a bit of an airy quality to it. I had some brown piping left over from Froo’s chiffon geranium dress, which pairs nicely with the rose print. The brown buttons are really lovely. They are shiny, sparkly, and a little off-kilter.
KCW: Roses & Chambray Dress
I used the rose print again to make fabric-covered buttons on the back. Sometimes it’s the small, subtle details that make me happy.
KCW: Roses & Chambray Dress
One thing I did to secure the lining to the dress was to stitch in the ditch at the arms by lining up the seam lines. You can hardly tell, but it’ll keep the dress together, especially after a washing.
KCW: Roses & Chambray Dress
So that wraps up KCW for me! Two dresses, a t-shirt and a pair of shorts. Now I can relax with my sister! I’ve missed her terribly. Our personalities are so different, but now that we’re both married, with 2 kids, we are finding out that we have a lot more in common and our reactions to situations are very similar. I think there might be a genetic component. I’ll have to ask her when she gets here!

7 responses to “KCW: A dress for my niece

  1. such a sweet little dress! Have a lovely week catching up with your sister!

  2. Deborah

    Irene, I swear…if you hadn’t moved south and were still teaching at Byrne- I would be in trouble. Fabulous job!

    • You are so funny! I could never teach full days, look after the kids & sew afterwards! Don’t you remember taking yoga with me? I’d fall asleep through most of it 😉

  3. Pingback: My niece & nephew are here! | FROO & BOO

  4. Pingback: Froo, the (bossy) fashion designer | FROO & BOO

  5. Pingback: Datura Blouse + Bias Tape Hem Tutorial | FROO & BOO

