My Boo is 2!

Happy 2nd Birthday, Boo!
My baby is not a baby anymore. Not compared to the above photos when we could dress Boo up in cute little toques and have a photographer snap away while he enjoyed his dreamy sleep. These days I have a hard time taking photos of him that are NOT blurry. This is what the usual photo of Boo looks like:
Happy Birthday Boo!
What a happy, happy day it is to be 2 years old! (Especially when mommy bribes you with Easter chocolate to take a couple of photos with your new birthday quilt.)
Birthday quilt for Boo
For Boo’s birthday, I decided to make him a quilt. I started exactly one week before Boo’s birthday and worried that I wouldn’t finish on time. But I managed to get it done on Sunday, with a couple of days to spare! I even had time to make Boo a matching pillow case.

Here is a photo of the finished quilt top:
Birthday quilt for Boo
I really wanted to make the wonky stars pop, so I used light colours to create contrast with the navy blue background. I also placed the wonky stars on a checkerboard pattern so I wouldn’t have to make so many stars! I think it works–since the background is a bit busy, there is enough going on with the quilt that the stars create just enough interest to make them stand out.

Here is a close-up of one of the stars:
Birthday quilt for Boo
This time around, I pin basted the quilt top, batting and backing together. After trying both spray adhesive and pins, I have to say, I prefer pins. With the spray, it’s hard to smooth out all of the layers when you are constantly peeling back the fabric to spray it, causing lots of little bubbles in the fabric. With pins, after smoothing it all out, it’s just a matter of pinning it altogether.

After creating my quilt sandwich, I decided to quilt the layers together using straight line stitches 1/4″ from each seam, similar to the quilting that I did for Froo’s quilt. I also quilted around each of the wonky stars.
Birthday quilt for Boo
For the stitching, I used a variegated blue cotton thread from Sulky. It is very subtle, but shows up nicely on the backside of the quilt:
Birthday quilt for Boo
It’s wrinkly and soft after a trip through the washing machine:
Birthday quilt for Boo
I really love the fabric. As I mentioned in my last post, most of the fabric is from Michele Brummer Everett’s collections: Seven Seas & Monsterz. The fabric is really soft and the sleeping monsters and celestial animals are just too darn tootin’ cute. I ended up substituting one of the prints for the stars, so the green stars are the only non-organic ones in the quilt. I used a soy/organic cotton blend batting that is also very soft. For the binding, I just pieced together leftover fabric from the stars and bound it by machine.

The finished quilt! It measures roughly 36″ x 50″.
Birthday quilt for Boo Birthday quilt for Boo
I had just enough fabric to make a small pillowcase for Boo’s pillow. I guess not quite enough, but I pieced together some fabric to make the pillowcase long enough to create an envelope casing at the opening.
Birthday quilt for Boo
Here’s a look at the quilt and pillow on Boo’s crib:
Birthday quilt for Boo
We are planning to keep Boo in his crib for as long as possible. We moved Froo to a “big girl” bed at 22 months and had the worst time keeping her from escaping at night. We first moved her to a bed because she kept climbing out of her crib and once got stuck hanging onto the bars, on the verge of falling upside down. Boo hasn’t tried to climb over yet, which is surprising since he exhibits no fear at the playground.

The little cloud pillow is the birthday gift I made for Boo last year. It’s what inspired my Sunshine & Grey Skies Cloud pillow in my shop. The massive bunny is a gift the hubs got me while we were dating. For some reason, Boo has really taken a liking to it. We think it’s because he was born in the year of the rabbit.
Birthday quilt for Boo
We had a wonderful day celebrating Boo’s birthday today! Boo’s best friend’s family came over for dinner and gave him the coolest remote control Thomas the Train. His other present was a 2-seater bicycle trailer. This past weekend, we took Froo & Boo out in the trailer hitched to the hubs’ bike and me, riding my new bike–it was the perfect afternoon, even with a bit of rain. Reminded me of home. It’s celebrations like this that gives me a bit of heartache for our friends & family in Vancouver. We miss you dearly. But know that your love reaches us here and the kids are growing in love, with full & happy hearts. xoxo.
Happy 2nd Birthday, Boo!

3 responses to “My Boo is 2!

  1. Happy Birthday ‘Big Boy Boo’ 2 years already, huh?

  2. Pingback: A Special Baby Quilt | FROO & BOO

