Cheers to the start of Q2

Kate Spain Central Park
I didn’t sew much in March. I had sewn up an order for my Etsy shop, but that’s pretty much it. Instead, I spent the end of the first quarter of the year with a sinus-muddled head and a persistent cough that has been keeping me awake at night and driving me mad.

So I gave up on sewing for a bit and started watching Downton Abbey–in bed, with the new tv that the hubs put in our bedroom. I stayed in bed until I watched all 3 seasons, which are happily available On Demand. I’m quite surprised by my new-found addiction to the show programme, since I don’t usually watch tv. Books are my thing. Except Downton Abbey is like a Jane Austen novel, only oh-so-much better because of the setting, clothing and characters–who create both chemistry and tension by the subtle nuance of facial expressions and excellent dialogue. Then this quote had me thinking that I should get back to sewing:

“You have a talent that none of the rest of us have. Just find out what it is and use it. It’s doing nothing that’s the enemy.”
— Sybil Crawley, Downton Abbey (Season 2, Episode 2)

You win, Sybil. (The part about doing nothing). Yesterday I started cutting fabric for Boo’s birthday quilt. The photo above is a collection of Kate Spain’s Central Park fabric that I was going to use to make Boo a quilt. I love every single print in the line. But even though there are blues, greens & purples, I couldn’t get over how feminine it is–too many florals, I guess. One of the first things I sewed for Boo were fabric boxes made with the animal print. It’s what got me hooked on quilting fabric, really, so the entire collection makes me a bit sentimental. I made the baby boots with this pattern.
fabric boxes Kate Spain Central Park
The bigger box fits diapers and wipes.
fabric boxes Kate Spain Central Park
So I bought another stack of fabric, mostly from Michele Brummer Everett’s collections: Seven Seas & Monsterz. The other prints are random fat quarters that I bought from Sew Fresh Fabrics. All of the fabric is 100% organic cotton.
Michele Brummer Everett Seven Seas & Monsterz
Today, I sewed up my first wonky star block! This tutorial is excellent–the photos make it easy to follow. Instead of using 4.5″ squares, I used 3″ squares to fit my quilt design. The finished block measures 8″x8″. It took a bit of effort to figure out where to put the points, in order for all of the critters to be right-side-up. Only 17 more to go!
My First Wonky Star Block
I am hoping to have this quilt finished in time for Boo’s birthday next week, but I think that’s a bit ambitious. I’m hoping to post a finished quilt soon–I need something to focus on so I don’t feel the effects of Downton Abbey withdrawal.

6 responses to “Cheers to the start of Q2

  1. Your fabric collections make me drooling, Irene! 🙂 I never do patchwork / quilt although I have some patchwork books that I bought long time ago, not sure if I have enough patience to do it :). Btw, I’d like to know about your organic cottons, are they soft and have cool feeling? I bought a fabric which called “organic” cotton but the texture of fabric is not soft at all (rough texture), even after many washes. Hope you can share your experience using those fabrics, thanks.

    • The organic fabric is really soft, as is most high quality cotton fabric. You can’t really tell the difference. I just really liked the prints! I am using a soy / organic cotton blend batting that is super soft. Will post about it soon!

  2. Lucinda

    That quilt will be beautiful! Even if it’s not done quite on time, the sentiment and love behind it will make up for a “late” bday present:) Love your fabric choice! And, another Downton Abbey fan here . . . hard to wait so long between seasons!

    • Thanks! I just finished the quilt yesterday–it’s surprising how much you can get done when there’s no Downton Abbey to watch. I can’t wait until the next season starts!

  3. Pingback: My Boo is 2! | FROO & BOO

