Even now–the sun rises

My mother-in-law’s long-time friend, Mary Tang, is a poet. She lives in Australia and recently contacted me about a custom Froo & Boo order. She sent me a poem that she wrote and wanted some of the words sewn onto my Sunshine & Grey Skies cloud pillow. After playing around with the words and the placement on the cloud, this is what we came up with:
even now--the sun rises
Mary had 2 pillows made: one to keep and one to give to her friend who is in the hospital. The words of the poem are really powerful and have such a strong message of hope. It is my hope that Mary’s friend will be comforted by the words of the poem and the softness of the pillow. This was a collaboration that truly inspired me. Mary has given me permission to share her poem on my blog:

even now

even the moon wanes
even the sun sets
stars ceased to glow
long ago

tides recede and
mountains slide
into seas

blossoms that scent the night
shroud the earth by dawn
and the heat of fierce embrace
fades in the glare of day

yet birds go berserk every morning
bursting their breasts with song
as mourning mists drift away

and the sun rises
again and again
and again

© Mary Tang, 2006

Beautiful, isn’t it? I love the line, “as mourning mists drift away“–I can almost see what that looks like and how that feels. Even though my life is full and I have a lot of happiness to share, I know that I can always use more hope in my life. Hope is what sustains life. At any moment, life can change–it is a fragile balance of enjoying every blessing and knowing that life will always encompass sorrow and suffering.

Here are 2 of the most important blessings in my life:
even now--the sun rises
I can’t even begin to describe the hope I have for these little hands:
even now--the sun rises
Today, we were lucky enough to share the perfect morning with Froo & Boo’s friend. He is a sweetie. So is his mommy. The weather was really amazing: sun shining, blue skies, fresh air, slight chill and as clear as it gets in the SF bay area.
even now--the sun rises
I think the boys may need to take a lesson from Froo on “How To Pose for the Camera”:
even now--the sun rises
We even caught a glimpse of San Francisco:
even now--the sun rises
Thank you, Mary Tang, for your amazing poem and for ordering Froo & Boo products! The meaning you have attached to the cloud pillows with your custom message is just the kind of thing that I have been dreaming about for my little handmade business. The fluffy clouds are in the mail–I hope you will love them as much as I loved making them!

6 responses to “Even now–the sun rises

  1. Mary Tang

    Dear Irene,

    Thank you so much for making my pillows to order. I enjoyed our discussions about the design and what would work and what wouldn’t and I am thrilled to see the result. The pillows look great together (especially with Froo and Boo holding them); so good that I wish I’d ordered three so that I can keep two!
    Now I can’t wait to receive them in the mail. 🙂

    Love,

    Mary

  2. Lucinda

    Oh! So beautiful! Both the pillows, and the poem sentiments. Truly a lovely combination.

  3. Mary Tang

    Thank you Irene for making these pillows and sending them from USA to Australia. Even the parcel they came in was so neatly wrapped that I knew something special was within. The cloud shape envelope was a great bonus; maybe I’ll write my poem on it but perhaps I should not be lazy and make that card 🙂

  4. Pingback: Feeling Grateful | FROO & BOO

