Polka Dottie Goodness


I have a bunch of things going on with Froo & Boo (my business) at the moment–it’s hard to keep on top of it all, especially while keeping Froo & Boo (my kids) from running amuck. My samples are made, but among other things, I realized that I would need to take nice photos of them. I thought of taking photos outside, but I’m pretty sure I would lose Boo in the process. We have the best natural light in the afternoon, which is perfect because that’s when Froo is at preschool and Boo is napping.

A couple of nights ago, I took a break from sewing. I wanted to make decorations for my product photo shoot. I used white acrylic paint on kraft packaging paper and loved the look of it. There is a pop of colour with the confetti washi tape that I used to stick my pennant banner to the wall. I am so accustomed to using Photoshop to create graphics, that the tangible process of painting was a really nice change.

The dress (Simplicity 5284) I made for Froo 1 1/2 years ago, is a cotton sateen blend with a bit of stretch. I bought the fabric in the clearance section of Fabricland in Vancouver for $2.50/metre. I loved the colour of the polka dots–it’s very Kate Spade-esque. Boo’s tie is made with the same fabric. It is reversible with blue and white stripes on the backside. There is a layer of white fleece in between to give it structure, while keeping it soft. It is sewn onto a piece of elastic. The fabric edges are left unfinished, so it’s really frayed–giving it a casual twist to a formal look.

There is a very good reason why there are so few photos of both Froo & Boo together on this blog: it’s almost impossible to get them cooperating with the camera at the same time. Today was no exception: 5 minutes and over 100 photos later, I only have 2 photos to post. That is less than a 2% success rate.

I added a couple of details to Froo’s dress. I ironed on appliqué felt flowers, used matching buttons and finished it off with some hand-stitched embroidery. The hem is embellished with pink ric rac ribbon. There are 3 little white flower buttons at the neckline. The dress is pretty short now, so it’ll have to be worn with leggings.

The only way I would get Boo to sit still was to give him something to hold.

I received my Employment Authorization Document from the Department of Homeland Security in the mail today, so I am officially able to work in the United States. My Etsy store will be open soon, I’m hoping sometime this weekend. I have one more photo shoot to do with a different background design, so stay tuned!

One response to “Polka Dottie Goodness

  1. Amy

    Woohoo, grand opening of my favorite store this weekend! This is so exciting ! Here’s a toast to Mme CEO . Cheers!

