Playing with Shrinky Dinks


The gold clover on Froo’s Kate Middleton Military Coat fell off the bar pin after just 3 wears. I remember reading this post on How About Orange, so I decided to make a clover out of Shrinky Dinks. I went to Michael’s and found Shrinky Dinks that can be printed using an ink jet printer–on both sides! I couldn’t stop the ideas from spinning out of my mind.

Froo & Boo is a one-woman show, with one supportive and handsome investor (a shout-out to my hubs). I designed the logo, created the content and now I have PIPPA. Packaging is a huge aspect of branding, so I’ve been thinking of ways to create unique packaging that would enhance the Froo & Boo brand.

I wanted to see what tags made out of Shrinky Dinks would look and feel like. I’ve never used Shrinky Dinks before, so this was really new to me. I printed on both sides of the Shrinky Dinks page and used a couple of punches to make my tags. The packaging says that it reduces to 1/3 of the original size, but in the photo below, you can see that the Shrinky Dinks reduced to less than 1/4 of the actual size.

I had my face glued to the oven door watching the Shrinky Dinks. Then I started to get worried because my Shrinky Dinks looked like this:

I pulled them out of the oven and tried to straighten them out, but they were pretty stiff. So I did what I did whenever I had needed to learn something new. I went on YouTube. It turns out that they curl first, before they flatten out. I put them back in the oven in the hopes that they would continue to automagically shrink.

Another 4 minutes, then using paper to press and flatten the tags further–this is what I got:

The tags are double-sided.

I’m not sure if you can see it in the photos, but the tags shrunk with an angled slant. They turned into little parallelograms, like the Pink Pearl erasers I used in elementary school. I’m not sure if it’s because I took the Shrinky Dinks out of the oven early, then continued to bake them after they had cooled down, but all of the tags were slanted, so I don’t think it’s a coincidence. Also, some of the red print from the Trader Joe’s paper bag rubbed onto the backsides of the tags. What I like about them: they are super thick with a nice matte finish.

Although I had a lot of fun doing some R&D, I don’t think I will be using these cute little tags. I am thinking of using Shrinky Dinks in my next art project with Froo & Boo. Oh the possibilities!

3 responses to “Playing with Shrinky Dinks

  1. Lucinda

    I think they’re super cute, esp. as a necklace:) Having done Shrinky Dinks a fair amount, I would definitely try leaving them in longer until they flatten out again. Then when I pull them out of the oven, I sometimes use the backside of something hard and flat to press on them while they’re still warm. That being said, I can see that a rectangular shape might shift a bit. Fun to play around with though:0

  2. Pingback: Happy Father’s Day! | FROO & BOO

