Coffee and Passports

May 28, 2012 – The day we left Vancouver to move to the San Francisco Bay Area

I had some fabric cut up awhile ago to make another gathered clutch, available as a tutorial from a great sewing blog called Noodlehead. I’ve made 2 previously, both as gifts. This next one was made for me. It is the perfect travel pouch for passports, frequent flyer cards/Nexus passes and foreign currency.

On Wednesday, after I woke up in the morning and prepared breakfast for Froo & Boo, I almost had a meltdown. I ran out of coffee the day before (Peet’s Major Dickason’s Blend, my new favourite), but I knew we had a package of Kona coffee that the hubs’ cousin brought back from Hawaii. I couldn’t find it anywhere. I was frazzled. I may have barked at the kids. I was anxiously anticipating a pounding headache. So I rushed Froo & Boo through breakfast, got us all dressed and we went for a brisk walk to our local Starbucks. Mmm. All was right in the world.

Back to the clutch. I bought a fat quarter of this coffee print fabric from Fabricana in Richmond, BC. I’m not sure who designed it–it was the last one left and I couldn’t find it on the bolt. One fat quarter is enough to make 3 clutches! For this one, I didn’t ruffle the front and I omitted the band because I wanted to be able to see the entire print on both the front and back. So I cut the band in half and stitched it to the bottom, giving it a modern, colour block effect.

The inside has 2 slots for cards and a divider. The aqua lining is a linen blend that I got on clearance for $2/metre at Fabricana. The grey with white floral print was leftover from a dress I made (Simplicity 2584). It was the first thing I made for myself after giving birth to Froo and I couldn’t get the zipper up from its lowest point. Yikes. It fits now, but it’s very short and I am thinking of shortening it into a shirt.

The card slots fit all 4 of our aeroplan cards and Nexus cards. All 4 passports fit with ease.

On the other side of the divider, Canadian bills fit lengthwise, without having to fold them. I still haven’t gotten used to American bills. It takes me a bit longer at the cashier, trying to distinguish 1’s from 20’s. Colour coding is much more effective. There’s also room for a pen to fill out customs forms and luggage tags.

The next photos show the clutch with everything packed securely inside. If you look closely, you can see that I forgot to topstitch the fabric close to the zipper. Oops. The huns said he likes it because it’s not girlie. I like it because it’s one less thing to worry about while traveling.


Boo woke up early from his afternoon nap while I was making the clutch. I tried to put him on our bed with the tv on to see if I could finish it. He sat still for one minute so I gave up and finished it in the evening. I ended up taking 84 photos: more than half were blurry, his head was cut-off in a handful and he fell off the bed once. He was laughing on the floor, so I think he’ll be ok.

I still haven’t found the Kona coffee, I even checked under Froo’s bed and in Boo’s toy boxes. I had tea on Thursday morning, which is not a good substitute. There is no substitute. This morning I really enjoyed my coffee.

One response to “Coffee and Passports

  1. tiara

    Very cute. I especially like the belly sticking out photo. Very typical boy =]

