A quilt for Froo

Before moving to the San Francisco bay area, I promised Froo that I would make her a quilt. I planned a twin size quilt, bought fabric and batting from a couple of online fabric shops, researched quilting methods, read quilt-making books, bought 505 basting spray *, then put it all away in a clear tote bin. This process took about 5 months. Froo’s quilt would become my first patchwork quilt. Before this endeavour, I made a crib-size quilt that is just 2 pieces of fabric with iron-on batting (I don’t recommend the stuff, it’s horrible!) with brown binding made from pre-cut strips. I learned oodles from my first quilt-making experience.
my first quiltNow that we’ve been here for a couple of months, I finally put it altogether.  My parents and little brother were visiting and I realized that we didn’t have many spare blankets. That was the extra push I needed to get started on my quilt. It came together in 5 days! Uncle Sammy used both Froo’s old Hello Kitty blanket and my first quilt, but his feet were still sticking out. It’s surprisingly cold here at night.

The fabric is from October Afternoon, Fly a Kite, by Riley Blake Designs. Is it cheating that the fabric came in pre-cut 10″ squares? I don’t think it matters because Froo loves it and so do I.
fly a kite quilt* I spray basted my quilt sandwich on the driveway. Interesting way to meet neighbours.

One response to “A quilt for Froo

  1. Pingback: My budding artists « FROO & BOO

