KCW: My 2nd Geranium Dress!

For KCW Summer 2013, I am repeating myself from the last spring edition. I made a Geranium dress for the first time and while it is a lovely dress, I have learned from my mistakes:

  1. Put the back bodice piece together properly. (Previously, I missed a good 1 1/4″ section that made the dress too tight! Oops.)
  2. Get Froo’s input for fabric choices. (It turns out cream & brown are not her faves.)

The last time we went fabric shopping, Froo picked a gorgeous print as soon as we walked in and wouldn’t change her mind. The fabric is called “Treasure” in Courage–part of the Wish collection by Valorie Wells. It is a cotton voile, which is much lighter and finely woven than quilting cotton–perfect for summer!

I chose to make this Geranium dress with faux cap sleeves and a pleated skirt. The only modification I made was to lengthen it by an inch and sew up the sides of the skirt with French seams. Froo did not want pockets, saying, “pockets are not fancy”. She has a point, I guess.
KCW Summer 2013: My Second Geranium Dress
Froo picked matching buttons in a frosted aqua.
KCW Summer 2013: My Second Geranium Dress
I used muslin as my lining. Since the cotton voile is somewhat sheer, the ivory lining keeps the colours looking a bit “softer”. I was going to use white lining, but somehow, the fabric seemed to brighten up too much at the bodice. The dress is sheer enough that you can see Froo’s silhouette in sunlight, but I think the fullness of the skirt makes it acceptable without lining.
KCW Summer 2013: My Second Geranium Dress
Froo’s first pose:
KCW Summer 2013: My Second Geranium Dress
Froo was really excited to try on the dress as soon as she woke up. We don’t have the best light in the morning, so my photos are not stellar. Which is perfectly fine with me–what really matters is the smile on her face.
KCW Summer 2013: My Second Geranium Dress
In the next photo, you’ll notice that Froo got a haircut! A couple of weeks ago, she went to a hair salon for the first time–my mom used to cut it, but since we’ve moved, it has grown out of control. I think she looks much older, but I still deny it every moment I can.
KCW Summer 2013: My Second Geranium Dress
The pink tulle and bead trim adds a delicate touch to the dress. I bought it months ago at Fabrix in San Francisco for $0.25/yard. I bought 10 yards, not knowing what for, except for the fact that it only cost me $2.50!
KCW Summer 2013: My Second Geranium DressKCW Summer 2013: My Second Geranium Dress
Froo says the cutest things sometimes, such as: “I’m not a princess, I just look like one” or “people think I’m a princess because I wear princess dresses” or my favourite, “when I turn 5 years old, can I still play with my bunny?” Of course you can, my princess. To which she would respond, “I’m not a princess, I just look like one!” Sheesh.
KCW Summer 2013: My Second Geranium Dress
Froo is in a 5T Geranium dress, so I think this is the last year that she’ll be able to fit into it. Rae recently released the Big G, Geranium Dress in sizes 6-12, which I might have to pick up soon. It’s crazy how fast my little girl is growing!

As for Boo, he is still our photo bomber extraordinaire:
KCW Summer 2013: My Second Geranium Dress
Finally, a couple of Instagram photos of our weekend spent at Half Moon Bay and having some carnival fun, with Froo & Boo in their new KCW summer outfits:
KCW Summer 2013: Froo & Boo
KCW Summer 2013: Froo & Boo
KCW Summer 2013: Froo & Boo
KCW Summer 2013: Froo & Boo
KCW Summer 2013: Froo & Boo
We have traded in our swimming suits for snow pants with iceskating lessons on Saturday afternoons! Keeping it Canadian in the Froo & Boo household, even though the kids are the most tanned they’ve ever been. Hope the rest of your weekend is ever so lovely!

12 responses to “KCW: My 2nd Geranium Dress!

  1. both outfits are so cute- I have been eyeing that Valorie Wells fabric for a few weeks now- it’s really beautiful, and I’m a sucker for cotton voile!

  2. What a beautiful dress! I love the look on Froo’s face….looks like you made a winner there! And ice skating lessons…awesome!

  3. Such a beautiful little dress! I love both of their outfits 🙂

  4. MTangel

    It’s so pretty! I actually just bought that Treasure voile last week, but in the Patience color (gray w/ pink). I really like it, so I hope it won’t look too “young” for a dress for me.

    Froo looks so cute, and I love the random photobomb with the wipes. Hilarious!

  5. Very cute geranium dress! The fabric is so sweet and airy and the dress is beautifully made 🙂

  6. What a sweet dress! I wouldn’t have looked twice at that fabric, and it looks so lovely on your adorable kiddo. She made a good choice.

  7. Pingback: An Experimental Wiksten Tova | FROO & BOO