Flashback Skinny Tees

Flashback Skinny Tee
I can see why the Flashback Skinny Tee is such a popular sewing pattern for kids–it’s an easy pattern to follow, it’s a quick project (2 shirts in 3 days! I am slow because of my Pinterest addiction…) and it uses very little fabric. (I blogged about the fabric here.) The finished tees are super comfortable and look freaking cute on Froo & Boo.

After decorating the Christmas tree, I found one box of lights that I didn’t use. So I thought it would help Froo & Boo to focus on the camera if they had something to play with.
Flashback Skinny Tee
Then inevitably, something goes awry.
Flashback Skinny Tee
So we moved over to the blank wall and tried again.
Flashback Skinny Tees
Flashback Skinny Tees
I especially LOVE how Boo’s tee turned out. I made it in size 2 and given that it’s a stretch knit, it fits him perfectly. After a trip through the washing machine, the fabric came out really soft. It was easy to sew through and it matches the navy blue ribbing. I tried to match the stripes at the sleeves, but as it turns out, you have to match the stripes at the armpits, not the shoulders. Oops. I sewed on a little whale applique that I had leftover from the Christmas present I made for Boo last year.
Flashback Skinny Tee
I used a tutorial from the purl bee to make Boo and my nephew a hooded towel. I am obsessed with the free iPhone app, LINE camera–it adds effects and graphics to photos that are really fun. There are so many options for customization!
Hooded Towel
Hooded Towel
The fabric for Froo’s tee is a poly-cotton blend and difficult to sew. My sewing machine kept eating the fabric at the beginning stitches, so I had to start about a 1/4 inch down the edge of my fabric. I added a cuff to the bottom of the shirt because I wanted it to look more like a sweatshirt than a pajama top. I took a gamble on the size and went up to size 5, but I should have made it in size 4, since the cuff adds another 2 inches to the hem. It’s a little long and not quite “skinny” enough, but Froo says she loves it nonetheless.
Flashback Skinny Tee detail
Here they are on their own:
Flashback Skinny TeeFlashback Skinny Tee
I am already planning a couple more Flashback Skinny Tees! They are so awesome. I usually find it hard to reuse a pattern, but I can see this one being used for a very long time. Even the hubs asked if I could make him one in his size!

9 responses to “Flashback Skinny Tees

  1. Rae

    so cute!! I love the pics with the string of lights!! :)

    • Thanks! Your pattern is awesome! The next one I’m going to try is a 3/4 length sleeve for Froo and a sweatshirt version for Boo. It actually excites me to sew them because they’re so fun & easy with great results!

  2. Your kids are so cute and this will be on my list of things to make!

  3. Seriously cute! Found you through Flickr…. Love the whale!

  4. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Mama! | FROO & BOO

  5. Pingback: Spring Cleaning: Boo’s Toys | FROO & BOO

  6. Pingback: KCW: My First Geranium Dress! | FROO & BOO

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

