Sweet Photo Advent Calendar Tutorial (0 Calories!)

Disneyland
It has been a busy weekend! The Froo & Boo family spent American Thanksgiving at Disneyland in Anaheim. It was my first time at the original Disneyland. I’ve been to Disneyland in Paris and Tokyo–years ago, long before I developed my coffee addiction. It was my first time at Disneyland with kids. Froo & Boo were awesome! They enjoyed the characters, sights and rides–all without a single meltdown. The hubs & I are utterly exhausted. I am running a major sleep deficit–must budget more time to sleep. But there are handmade Christmas gifts to be made. What to do?

This is the one photo of Boo with the Perry the Platypus stuffy that we bought him before he dropped it on the ground 10 minutes later, nowhere to be found. We checked the Lost & Found office to see if anyone had turned it in. I filled out a form, without a hope of seeing Perry again.
Perry the Platypus as Agent P
This afternoon, I received this in the mail:
Perry the Platypus
Yay Disney!

Now for my photo advent calendar. I do paper crafts, too. I used to make really detailed cards and scrapbooks. Now I prefer the quick and easy crafts that I can do with Froo. So I decided to make an advent calendar that Froo could help me make. I realize that this tutorial is a little late, but seriously, where did the month go??

Here are the supplies you’ll need:

  • A 12″x12″ photo (crop a photo into a square, or use an Instagram photo and send it online to Costco.com, pick it up 2 hours later for only $2.99!)
  • A 12″x12″ cardstock scrapbook size piece of┬ápaper
  • A ruler & level
  • Acid-free photo safe glue stick
  • Scissors or paper cutter
  • Wall mounting putty
  • Stamping ink pads (I used red & white)
  • Pencils with erasers on the end
  • Number stamps (I got mine at Target from the Curiosity Shoppe line)

Photo Advent Calendar Supplies
Step 1
Draw gridlines using a light pencil on the scrapbook paper. Since there are 25 days to Christmas, you’ll need 5 columns x 5 rows of equal width and height. That works out to 2.4 inches, or roughly 6 cm. After drawing your gridline, stamp your numbers from right-to-left using the red ink. Follow the diagram below:
Photo Advent Calendar
I stamped it the wrong way and got terrible results. I’m fine with it since we are leaving for Vancouver on the 15th and will not get to complete our advent calendar anyways. So I am leaving it up with the complete photo showing.

Step 2
Using the eraser on the end of the pencil, stamp the ink pad gently and fill your page with confetti dots. Froo is a lefty.
Photo Advent Calendar
Step 3
Glue your photo to the back of the scrapbook page. Using your scissors or paper cutter, cut along the gridlines. Then using the wall mounting putty, place each number square on the wall. (I bought the Staples brand, which I find to be super sticky. I usually use the blue one, which I much prefer, but I couldn’t find it.) Use the level to make sure your pieces are not crooked. Optional: create a mini bunting by cutting tiny triangles out of washi tape. It is safe on walls and easy to remove.
Photo Advent Calendar
Step 4
Here is the fun part–turn over one square every day until you reach the 25th of December. Your picture should slowly start to reveal itself. This would be a really fun surprise for Froo & Boo if they hadn’t seen the original photo to begin with. And that’s it! A quick and easy advent calendar without all the sugary sweets.
Photo Advent Calendar
The countdown is on. I cannot believe we are quickly approaching Christmas! I am used to having Canadian Thanksgiving at the beginning of October, with oodles of time until Christmas. I am feeling very rushed, especially since we are going home for the holidays!

2 responses to “Sweet Photo Advent Calendar Tutorial (0 Calories!)

  1. this is so very cute!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

