Wiksten Tova in Nani Iro

It’s been over a week since returning from Vancouver and I don’t think I have recovered yet. I am exhausted–from late night chats with friends, the fatigue of traveling and returning to the routine of life in California. I have always thought that unpacking a suitcase was more onerous then packing one.

So after leaving my sewing machine alone for a couple of weeks, my first project was one for myself, even though I have piles of new fabric intended for Froo & Boo. I have (finally) returned to my pre-pregnancy weight, so I thought I would reward myself with a Wiksten Tova. I blogged about my dress version here, but this one is a shirt version. The fabric is Japanese double-gauze cotton called Melody Sketch by Nani Iro, purchased here. The fabric is really beautiful. The confetti-dot print makes me smile.

Here is a close-up of the front inset. I sewed the top-stitching a little less than the recommended 1/4″. I think the corners turned out pretty well. The stitching on the inside of the collar on the left side is a little wonky.

I love the collar on this shirt–it moves with your body so it never stays in the same position.

A look at the sleeve cuff. I love 3/4 length sleeves–can this shirt get any better?

I finished the sides, shoulders and sleeves with enclosed French seams and zig-zagged edges. Double-gauze fabric is loosely woven and frays a lot, so I wanted to reinforce my seams. Since the seam allowance is 3/8″, I first sewed the sides with wrong sides together at 1/8″, then used a small zig zag stitch to finish the edges. I then ironed the seams with right sides together and stitched the edges with a 1/4″ seam allowance. Finally, I pressed the seams open to one side. It was more time-consuming for sure, but it’s really worth the effort to have the shirt professionally finished.

Okie, so here are some pictures of me wearing the shirt. Yikes. I always feel awkward taking photos of myself, hence, the cheesy smile.

Here’s a full-length photo. There isn’t a lot of space between the facing mirrors, so my head got cut off at the top–which is fine because at this angle, it’s looking huge.

And finally, a photo of my new TOMS that arrived on my doorstep yesterday evening. So even though it’s a struggle to keep my eyelids from closing, I figure a good dose of colour, confetti & polka dots and my new favourite shirt might awaken my urge to create new things.

22 responses to “Wiksten Tova in Nani Iro

  1. tiara

    Very very cute!

  2. Deborah siverson

    Love, love, love! It looks fabulous on you….the fabrics great too.

  3. wow, just gorgeous! that fabric is divine!

  4. Lorraine

    very cool stuff going on for you!! Really love the shirt!! I think those are nice shoes too- but they’d look fantastic with a four inch heel! ;)

    • Haha Lorraine! I love your style–no one can pull off the “come hither” heels that you can! I can’t seem to wear heels longer than 10 minutes without wishing I was wearing TOMS. I have a pair of TOMS wedge booties that you might approve of!

  5. Lucinda

    What a beautiful shirt! I can predict that it will quickly become a “go-to” article of clothing in your closet, you know – the ones that we grab when we want to look cute but feel comfortable too. What great fabric! And I love those TOMS – grey and polka dots . . . serious cuteness:)

  6. *gasp* I just made a Tova dress in Nani Iro fabric too!!! Great minds think alike… ;) I’m loving the confetti dots design. Mine is the floral one in cream (I forgot the exact name of the collection). OH man, the more I look at yours the more I want to buy the fabric. I’ll be posting about my Tova later this week and I’ll link to yours… I’ll let you know when I do! :)

  7. Pingback: Why cutting fabric is like playing Tetris « FROO & BOO

  8. gorgeous fabric and fantastic shirt! I’m thinking I need to get this pattern. Can I ask how much fabric you used? I see you didn’t put the curve on the back hem.

    • I bought 2 yards and pre-washed it. (It seemed to shrink quite a bit). I placed the pattern pieces all along the fold line so I was left with larger fabric leftovers to make my scarf. I don’t think the back hem is curved. It is on the Wiksten tank but not the tova. Hope that helps!

  9. Super cute! Love how well you finished the inside.

  10. ellisonlanequilts

    So cute! I am dying to make a tova – I need to take the plunge. Love your fabric!

  11. I like your choice in fabric!

  12. Pingback: A cruise-worthy skirt | FROO & BOO

  13. This is so lovely!

  14. Pingback: A sheer Wiksten tank | FROO & BOO

  15. Pingback: The Super Online Sewing Bee: Announcing our Contestants! | Sew Mama Sew |

  16. Pingback: The Super Online Sewing Bee… and me! | FROO & BOO

  17. Gorgeous! Now that’s a fancy shirt. :) Congratulations on your bee selection! I’m glad I found your blog.

  18. Pingback: An Experimental Wiksten Tova | FROO & BOO

  19. Pingback: The Grand Prize Winner is… | Sew Mama Sew |

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

