A Burberry-Inspired School Coat

My little Froo is starting Pre-Kindergarten tomorrow. I was worried she might have separation anxiety, being in a new city and country, but at the open house last week, she was off and away without looking back. I think I might be the one with separation anxiety…

Anyhoo, I saw this Burberry coat on Pinterest recently and it reminded me of when I used to obsess over clothing in magazines. Now that my daily destinations include the playground, Trader Joe’s and Target, I am more interested in what Froo & Boo are wearing and making clothing for them. I still love clothes, but I am happiest wearing a pair of jeans and my TOMS.


Then I started to obsess over the idea of making the Burberry coat for Froo. I found this pattern on Etsy and started my journey with the intention of making the cutest coat ever. The e-pattern is from The Lily Bird Studio; it is very detailed and well put-together. The pieces generally fit perfectly and the instructions are well-written. I have only started using e-patterns over the past couple of years and although it takes a long time to print, tape together, trace and cut the pattern pieces, the trade-off is worth the effort: you get step-by-step instructions with colour photos to guide you through the entire process. Awesome.

This was definitely a time-consuming project. There are a lot of pieces, the coat is fully lined and there are 2 rows of top-stitching that required a thread change throughout the project. I took some photos of Froo this morning and seeing her in the coat, I think it was a worthwhile venture. I made the coat in size 5, even though she is several weeks from turning 4 because she is a tall girl. I asked her to pose and this was her first shot.

I added pockets using this tutorial because Froo’s hands are always getting cold.

View of the back. I added belt loops and a tie to resemble the Burberry trench coat. I think it increases the cute factor of the coat.

I used the lining fabric to add contrast to the collar. The fabric is called “Aunt Edna” from the Denyse Schmidt collection for Jo-Ann. I love how the plaid is printed on the diagonal to give it more interest. The outer fabric is a 100% cotton for making pants (not sure what the technical name is). Here is the picture of the collar “popped-up”.


You can see glimpses of the lining here and there.


And a whole lot of plaid!

Finally, some photos of the coat, sans Froo.

Cutest coat. Ever. Made cuter by Froo.

12 responses to “A Burberry-Inspired School Coat

  1. littleputtstuff

    she’s getting soooo big!

  2. Leungs&Chiangs

    We think this is better than the original ! Love Miss Froo’s poses, such a cute model !

  3. Tiara

    Absolutely adorable!

  4. Pingback: Fashion Icon Week « FROO & BOO

  5. I agree. cutest coat ever. I’m envious!

  6. wow, that is super cute! Great pictures, too!

  7. Froo really knows how to model…she is such a sweetie. Great job on the jacket! I feel exhausted just looking at it, so much work must have gone into it.

  8. Pingback: Sewing for the hubs for Valentine’s day « FROO & BOO

  9. Pingback: The Super Online Sewing Bee: Announcing our Contestants! | Sew Mama Sew |

  10. Pingback: The Super Online Sewing Bee… and me! | FROO & BOO

  11. Pingback: KCW: Summer outfit for Boo | FROO & BOO

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

